Northwest Consolidated Fire District

"On January 1, 2010, both De Soto FD and JCFD3 ceased to exist, and the Northwest Consolidated Fire District (NWCFD) was officially in operation. Today, NWCFD has an organizational structure of a fire chief, an administrative assistant, 3 battalion chiefs, 27 full-time (including company officers), and 5 part-time firefighter/EMTs, for a total of 37 employees. NWCFD covers an approximate area of 70 square miles from 3 staffed stations and has an average annual call volume of over 900 calls. NWCFD provides fire and EMS services for the City of De Soto, Lexington Township, and parts of Olathe Township. Sunflower Redevelopment LLC also contracts with NWCFD to provide fire protection for SFAAP. Services provided by NWCFD include but are not limited to fire suppression, rescue operations, HazMat incidents, vehicle extrication, emergency medical services, fire prevention programs, public education, and fire inspection programs." - Northwest Consolidated Fire District Website