Whitewater River Consolidated Fire Dist.

The Whitewater River Consolidated Fire District operates out of two stations covering 126 square miles. The department is staffed by all volunteer firefighters protecting parts of Bulter and Harvey Counties, responding to around 160 calls per year.

"The Whitewater Fire Department was established in 1891.  The first fire station was a small building on Main Street.  The next station was built in ca. 1920 and was located under the water tower and is now used to store city equipment.  The present fire station was finished in 1980.  In 1923 the city purchased a Model T Pumper to augment the bucket brigades; updated equipment was added as needed:  a 1954 Ford LaFrance Engine (Pumper), a 1981 Ford Collins Engine, and in 2008 an American LaFrance Engine." - Frederic Remington Area Historical Society

WRCFD Station 1

WRCFD Station 2