St. Marys Fire Department

The St. Marys Fire Department consists of one (1) full-time paid position and 21 paid-per-call volunteer members. The Fire Department is responsible for calls within the city limits, as well as all of Pottawatomie County Fire District #1.  Fire District #1 starts at the Pottawatomie/Shawnee county line to the east and continues westward to approximately 1 mile west of Belvue.  The southern border is the river channel and the north border is Holy Cross road just south of Emmett.  There is an area south of the river known as the “Holvorson Island” that is also in Fire District #1.  Moreover, the Department provides fire protection for a small section of Wabaunsee County south of the 9th street bridge, as well as to the Jeffrey Energy Center.